top of page
  • Writer's pictureredbrunettegals

Laugh at Yourself, and Others Too

Updated: Jul 5, 2018

Let's face it. Laughter is one of life's greatest gifts. It can make your complex, confusing, sometimes weird and uncontrollable life just a tad bit bearable. Although this may (actually, it surely will) be disputed by those that know me best, laughter has made my mental state much more stable. I shudder to think what my state would have been without laughter. *Shiver*



Clara generally laughs AT me as opposed to WITH me

Now, don't get me wrong. Laughing at others can be just as important- as long as they are in on the joke. It's really no fun laughing on your own. It actually takes the fun out of it. Take Clara for example, she has this uncanny way of butchering about 65% of words in the English language because of her Colombian accent. Just the other day, she was describing R&B- the music, but she called it RB&B - confusing it with airbnb. It took a minute before I realized what she had said and of course, once it registered, it became my duty as her friend to explain the discrepancy as well as make fun of her. We practically hit a telephone pole (she was driving) from laughing so hard. This is a perfect example of when it is completely ok to laugh your ass off at your friends- in fact, it is highly recommended.


We are all deeply flawed in our own ways. Being able to look back at some of the idiotic things you have done or said and laugh about them shows growth and resilience. If you repeat those same idiotic mistakes over and over and continue to laugh at yourself, that actually shows stupidity and insanity, and this simple little blog is not for you. It may be time to talk to someone more well versed in absurdity.


I have an exceptionally extraordinary talent for falling, tripping, or dropping things at the most inopportune times. I've become a bit of an expert at looking like a complete mutant at the most disadvantageous times. Let's take April 23rd, for example. I distinctly remember the day because I had lost what little dignity I had left on that day, and you tend to remember days like that.


I was just walking into school, like any other day. I locked my car door, and walked up to the doors to let myself into my classroom. The custodian was there, as he is every day. He raised his hand to say good morning, and, being the polite human I am, I did the same. At that very moment, because multi-tasking isn't always my thing, I missed the curb, and tumbled down the sidewalk. As I was hitting the ground, I distinctly remember saying to myself "Oh &%$#, I'm going down."


Of course the custodian was mortified and came running to my rescue as I looked and sounded like a hairy red orangutang falling down the stairs. He ran over to me to give me his hand to pull me up off of the ground where I left my ego and my soul. He ask cordially asked if he could get me anything - all while trying to hide his confusion and shame for me. I looked up at him and said - my dignity. He was too disgraced for me to laugh at my joke. I was 0 for 2.


I immediately gathered my shame and scandal, ran to my classroom, and recanted the entire event for Clara. Allowing her to laugh at my embarrassment as well. After all, that's what friends do.


Find yourself a Clara, make them your person. Share with them, laugh with them, and laugh at yourself. It does wonders for your - everything.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page