top of page
  • Writer's pictureredbrunettegals

There's no tiME without ME

Let's face it, you are wanted. You are needed. Your kids need you from the second they open their eyes and realize that they can do nothing for themselves. Your spouses need you more than they need food to live. Finding "me" time gets squashed down to the very dark depths of your to do list. You sit alone on the toilet while the kids bang on the door because your daughter flicked your son in the forehead and now he's blind and think: 10 minutes, all I need is 10 freaking minutes!

Once you've found the strength to get off of the toilet, open the door, threaten to burn every stuffed animal in the house to shreds if your children don't settle down, you realize, I'm desperately exhausted.


Matching outfits because, why not?


It is during these times that I fiercely despise my bestie Clara who never complains about waking up at 5 am for our workouts. She never cancels, is always offensively ready, and (I believe) has rigged my #applewatch because no matter what I do, she always burns more calories than I do.


In our quest to shake things up and make things more exciting, we try taking it outside every now and then. The thing is, though, today, we were deathly tired. The context of tired varies. My tired looks much different than Clara's. My tired consists of me climbing into her car every morning (for her own safety, she drives), and the barrage of foul language begins to shoot out of my mouth. Clara is always sprightly, and sometimes may yawn, but never complains. Her happiness leaves a distaste in my mouth, but I kinda love her.


Today we were back at the same field we tend to frequent. As the workout progressed, my hatred for the world and everything that inhabited it was lifting. It's almost as though you could feel the irritable nature being replaced with a jovial, more relaxed version of yourself. I realized that this was our ME time. We are realistically aware that the luxuries of girl's weekends, or spa days are just scenes we see in movies (for now). This made us happy. This

gave us the boost we needed to redirect and focus. Laughing, groaning, grunting, and cursing burpees together was just a hilarious bonus.




Remarkably, working out against my wishes and will made me a much better friend, mom, and human. Not to mention we felt like #badasses when we were done -pushing past that utter lack of motivation. Now I do it for me. I also do it for the safety of others.


Whatever it is that makes YOU happy and puts YOU in a non-homicidal state of mind, do it. You'll thank yourself for it. Trust us.


Clara explaining to me the ways of the world




68 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page